Brazil – Concise Timeline

Latin America has had its share of wars, famines, monarchy, economic downfalls, foreign inventions and a whole assortment of varied calamities over the years. The Federative Republic of Brazil is filled with interesting facts and historic events. The history of Brazil is more than 8000 years old.  Brazilian history is entwined together across four major periods:

1.Pre-colonial period
2.Colonial period
3.Imperial (Monarchy) period
4.Republic (Presidential) period

The timeline of this country dates way back to 1500 which is a lot of dates, kings, wars and leaders to manage. This brief timeline has been put together which lists the important dates in Brazilian history ordered by year. The chronology of key events offers concise yet comprehensive account of the rich and varied history of Brazil, its traditions and people.

1500 – Portuguese navigator explorer Pedro Alvares Cabral reached Brazil and placed the Portuguese flag on it.
1534 – This year marked the beginning of Colonial Period in Brazil.
1550 – With the abundance of sugar plantations, the Portuguese had their first batch of African slaves transported to Brazil.
1630 – The Dutch invaded Brazil
1654 – Exactly twenty-four years later, the Portuguese expulsed the Dutch from Brazil. This was also the year when Jews were expelled from Brazil.
1661 – The Dutch sold the country back to Portugal for eight million guilders.
1763 – Rio de Janeiro was declared as the country’s capital
1808 – The Royal Family arrived Brazil and ruled the country until 1821
1822 – Brazil declared itself as an independent nation, marking the beginning of the Imperial period.
1888 – “Golden Law”: Four million slaves were freed from Brazil marking an end of slavery in the country. This seen an influx of European immigrants over the years.
1889 – A year later after slavery was abolished, Brazilian monarchy was overthrown and the country proclaimed itself as a republic.
1945 – Brazil became a member of the United Nations
1960 – The new city ‘Brasilia’ was built and Juscelino Kubitschek (President at the time) declares it as the country’s new capital. .
1964 – The government was overthrown my military dictatorship. Censorship was imposed and political opposition quelled.
1985 – With military dictatorship being supported by USA for all these years, the ‘Coup d’Etat’ ended and the country returned to civilian rule. Jose Sarney was elected as the President of the country.
1989 – Brazil was declared as a democratic nation. Fernando Collor de Mello was elected as the president.
1994 – The modern real (Brazilian currency), was introduced.
2003 – Luiz Inacio Lula de Silva takes office as president.
2010 – The reign of the LULA government came to an end with Dilma Rousseff being elected as the President. She is the first ever woman elected president of Brazil.

The history of Brazil is influenced by Eastern, African and Middle Eastern immigrants. The Portuguese had such an influence, that Brazil is the only Portuguese-speaking country in Latin America.

Facts on Brazil